| Event type: | Walking |
| Date: | 16th September 2026 |
| Time: | 10:00 am |
| Group: | Walking |
| Organiser: | |
| Booking: | Note that booking is required. |
This walk is being organised by Martin & Barbara B as the group leader is away. Thank you very much Martin & Barbara.
Meeting and Start Point: 10:00 Sharp at The Bulls Head at Belper Lane End, Derbyshire DE56 2DL. T: 01773 441233 E: hello@bullsheadbelper.com
Details of walk: Start and finish at the Bulls Head at Belper Lane End walking anti-clockwise. Distance is 5.5 miles with a total ascent of 781ft. With a couple of short hydration stops, 3 hours should be comfortable for the group. Not too many stiles and the climbs are fairly gradual although if we get some rain it may be slippery in places. Lunch is booked for 1.00pm, so would like a prompt start at 10.00am. Full route map HERE or click on blue button below.
Food: 13.00 The Bulls Head at Belper Lane End, Derbyshire DE56 2DL. T: 01773 441233 E: hello@bullsheadbelper.com. For menu click HERE or on the blue button below.
At its heart The Bulls Head Belper is a dog friendly village pub with great food and Belper’s best Sunday Lunch! The Bulls Head Belper is not a chain, it’s a female owned independent pub, where great service and fantastic food is paramount. They have local cask ales and lagers from Thornbridge Brewery, a comprehensive wine list and cocktail menu, as well as traditional bar snacks and doggy treats of course! They have a large garden terrace, a cosy snug with a roaring fire to relax after a long walk in the Derbyshire countryside (muddy boots and doggies welcome!), a bar area with comfy sofas and table service, and an elegant restaurant with contemporary dining. Food is their passion, and make everything on site and use as much local produce as possible.
At the time of the Norman occupation, Belper was part of the land centred on Duffield held by the family of Henry de Ferrers. The Domesday Book of 1086 records a manor of "Bradley" which is thought to have stood in an area of town now known as the Coppice. At that time it was probably within the Forest of East Derbyshire which covered the whole of the county east of the Derwent. It was possibly appropriated by William de Ferrers, 4th Earl of Derby at some time after it was disaffortsted in 1225 and became part of Duffield Frith.
The town's name is thought to be a corruption of Beaurepaire – meaning beautiful retreat – the name given to a hunting lodge, the first record of which being in a charter of 1231. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Belper
Emergency phone for this walk: 07828 532732